Your Early National Signing Day Primer

By Nick Polak on December 18, 2017 at 12:05 pm
class photo
Will Levis [Twitter]

On Wednesday, December 20, the early signing day period will officially commence. Since this is a brand new development in college football, there are plenty of questions surrounding the upcoming event, and what it will look like. Allow us to guide you through what you, as Penn State fans, need to know.

What exactly IS this?

The early signing period will look a bit different from the traditional National Signing day on the first Wednesday of February. This year, the period will start on December 20, and run for 72 hours through December 22. After a player signs during this period, they are officially part of the class. The early enrollment process is unchanged, though a player signing during this early signing period is not required to enroll early, and may still enroll in the fall as if they were signing in February.

Players are also not required to sign during the early signing period, and may choose to wait until February to do so.

Which Penn State commits are expected to sign?

Per 247Sports, nearly the entire currently committed class is expected to sign (though none of that is set in stone until they do physically sign the papers). Many have announced when exactly they will be signing via Twitter announcements, such as offensive tackle Nana Asiedu.

The following players are reportedly set to officially sign on the 20th-

  • WR Justin Shorter
  • RB Ricky Slade
  • OT Nana Asiedu
  • DT PJ Mustipher
  • TE Zack Kuntz
  • TE Pat Freiermuth
  • OC/OG Fredrick Scruggs
  • ILB Jesse Luketa
  • WR Daniel George
  • ILB Nick Tarburton
  • CB Jordan Miner
  • CB Trent Gordon
  • DT Aeneas Hawkins
  • DT Judge Culpepper
  • S Isaiah Humphries
  • OLB Charlie Katshir
  • OT Bryce Effner
  • QB Will Levis
  • K Jake Pinegar

The only current commit not slated to sign is athlete Shaquon Anderson-Butts, who will sign in February.

Who might join them?

Penn State has a few names left on the board for the 2018 class. DE/LB Micah Parsons, DE/DT Tyreke Smith, DE Jayson Oweh, OT Rasheed Walker, WR Jahan Dotson, and WR Solomon Enis all remain options to join the 2018 class.

Parsons will announce his choice on the 20th and will subsequently sign with said school. The others have not officially announced their decisions as to when they will sign, though it appears likely that they will all wait until February. Walker already has a few more official visits scheduled.

Check back to Roar Lions Roar for more on their remaining targets ahead of the early signing period.

How do I follow along?

Luckily for you, you read Roar Lions Roar! To stay up to date on who has and hasn't signed, all you need to do is follow us on Twitter and Instagram, as well as continue to check the homepage and our signing day hub all day long! We'll keep you updated on who has signed as well as other fun things that pop up throughout the signing period.3

So just sit back, relax, and recruit.

View 8 Comments