Marcus Allen and Jason Cabinda Named to Bronco Nagurski Trophy Watch List

By John Morgan on July 13, 2017 at 10:09 am
Marcus Allen

Matthew O'Haren-USA TODAY Sports


The Bronco Nagurski Trophy has been awarded annually since 1993 and no Penn State player has been named the winner. Senior safety Marcus Allen and linebacker Jason Cabinda will try to change that as they were named to the preseason watch list for the award. Earlier this week, the duo was also named to the Bednarik Award watch list, which is presented to the best defensive player in college football as voted on by the Football Writers Association of America.

Marcus Allen elected to return for his senior season after an NFL evaluation. Allen led Penn State with 110 tackles as a junior, which included an incredible 22 tackle effore vs. Ohio State. 

Though he missed four games, Jason Cabinda finished third on the team with 81 tackles, 4 of which were for a loss. Cabina came back from an injured thumb vs. Ohio State and had 13 tackles. His third down sack of J.T. Barrett setup a 4th and 23 that introduced us to YouTube star FZappa20.  

Along with being named to the Nagurski and Bednarik Award watch lists, Allen and Cabinda were also named to the Lott IMPACT Trophy watch list. For a complete list of the watch list for the Nagurski Trophy, click here.