Saquon Barkley Wins 2017 Paul Hornung Award

By Craig Fritz on December 6, 2017 at 2:00 pm
Penn State Running Back Saquon Barkley

Adriana Lacy - Roar Lions Roar


Saquon Barkley is the 2017 Paul Hornung Award winner. Presented by the Louisville Sports Commission, the Hornung Award is given to the nation's most versatile college football player from the FBS level. On the season, Barkley totaled 1,134 rushing yards, 594 receiving yards, 426 kick return yards, and 36 passing yards.

Barkley is also a finalist for the Maxwell Award (top player), Walter Camp Player of the Year, and Doak Walker Award (top running back).

From the Hornung Award's website

Barkley was chosen as the Paul Hornung Award winner from among four finalists by a 17-member national selection committee comprised of sports journalists, coaches, and retired NFL players; online fan voting accounted for the 18th vote. All votes were independently tabulated by regional accounting firm Dean Dorton, one of the largest accounting and advisory firms in Kentucky, with offices in Louisville and Lexington.

The other 2017 Paul Hornung Award finalists were: Nyheim Hines (NC State); Joel Lanning (Iowa State); and Dante Pettis (Washington).