Bobby Engram, Jeff Hartings, and Steve Wisniewski Among 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Nominees

By Matt de Bear on June 4, 2018 at 12:51 pm
Nov 5, 2016; University Park, PA, USA; General view of the Penn State Nittany Lions logo inside Beaver Stadium prior to the game against the Iowa Hawkeyes. Penn State defeated Iowa 41-14. Mandatory Credit: Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports
Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

Three Nittany Lion legends are among the nominees for the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019. Wide receiver Bobby Engram joins offensive linemen Jeff Hartings and Steve Wisniewski on the ballot. Also included is Glen Killinger, who was a 1921 All-American at quarterback for Penn State. Killinger, inducted as a player in 1966, is a candidate for the divisional coach class. 

Fans will no doubt remember Engram as arguably the best receiver in program history, and the recipient of the inaugural Biletnikoff Award winner in 1994. He still owns the school record for career receiving yards (3,026), career receiving touchdowns (31), season receiving scores (13) and 100-yard receiving games (16). 

Hartings, a native of St. Henry, Ohio, anchored the 1994 offensive line, considered one of the best in the history of the game. That year's team went 12-0, including a 63-14 victory over Ohio State, and the program's first ever Rose Bowl victory. The 1994 offense broke 14 school season records and seven Big Ten season marks, led in large part by the dominant group up front.

The Wisniewski name is as synonymous as any in Penn State history. Steve is the younger brother of defensive lineman Leo, and the uncle of Philadelphia Eagles offensive lineman Stefen. The middle Wisniewski started as a sophomore on the Nittany Lion's second national championship team in 1986, and led the way for both D.J. Dozier and Blair Thomas. He played 13 seasons for the Los Angeles Raiders, earning Pro-Bowl honors eight times and All-Pro honors twice.

Another 1994 legend, quarterback Kerry Collins, was named to the 2018 Hall of Fame class earlier this year, and will be formally inducted in December.