Trace McSorley Named to the 2018 Maxwell Award Watch List

By John Morgan on July 16, 2018 at 10:40 am
Oct 28, 2017; Columbus, OH, USA; Penn State Nittany Lions quarterback Trace McSorley (9) takes the shotgun snap during the first quarter against the Ohio State Buckeyes at Ohio Stadium.

Joe Maiorana-USA TODAY Sports


Just like he was one year ago, Trace McSorley has been named to the Maxwell Award Watch List. The award first started in 1937, and is presented to the best all-around college football player. The award is voted on by head coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club, and a variety of sportswriters and sportscasters. Last season, both McSorley and Saquon Barkley were named to the preseason watch list.

For Penn State fans, McSorley's accomplishments are well-documented. He is already the Penn State passing touchdown record holder with 59 through two seasons. Assuming all goes as planned, he will pass Christian Hackeberg as Penn State's all-time passing leader sometime early this fall en route to holding virtually every Nittany Lion passing record. McSorley heads into the 2018 season a touchdown pass in 28 straight games, the longest streak in FBS football.

Penn State has had seven winners of the Maxwell Award, but none since 2002 when Larry Johnson took home the trophy. McSorley would become the fourth Penn State quarterback to win the award joining Richie Lucas (1959), Chuck Fusina (1978) and Kerry Collins (1994). Oklahoma's Baker Mayfield was the 2017 recipient.