Former Penn State Linebackers Paul Posluszny and Sean Lee Elected to the WPIAL Hall of Fame

By John Morgan on February 22, 2019 at 8:30 am
Jan 7, 2018; Jacksonville, FL, USA;Jacksonville Jaguars middle linebacker Paul Posluszny (51) during the second half of the AFC Wild Card playoff football game at Everbank Field. Jacksonville Jaguars defeated the Buffalo Bills 10-3.
Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports
1 Comment

Two former Penn State linebackers were named to the Western Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic League (WPIAL) Hall of Fame on Thursday. Paul Posluszny and Sean Lee were announced as members of the 2019 class.

At Penn State, Posluszny was a two-time winner of the Chuck Bednarik Award, presented to the nation's top defensive player in 2005 and 2006. He also took home the 2005 Butkus Award as the nation’s top linebacker. In High School, Poz lead Hopewell to the WPIAL and PIAA titles in 2002 as a star running back and linebacker. He announced his retirement from the NFL following the 2017 season.

Sean Lee has been a member of the Dallas Cowboys since 2010. His college career at Penn State was hampered by injuries, but was named as second team All-Big Ten in 2007 and served as a the team defensive captain in 2009. Not only was Lee was a standout football player at Upper St. Clair, he led the Panthers to the 2005 WPIAL Championship in basketball averaging 21.2 points and 9.1 rebounds per game.  

The class of 2019 will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Saturday, June 1.Here is a list of the former Nittany Lions already enshrined:

  • Derek Bochna – Mapleton
  • Nico Megaludis – Franklin Regional
  • Aaron Gatten – Washington
  • LaVar Arrington – North Hills
  • Brandon Short – McKeesport
  • Suzie McConnell-Serio – Seton-LaSalle
  • Justin King – Gateway
  • Terry Smith – Gateway
  • AQ Shipley - Moon

Complete 2019 WPIAL Hall of Fame Class

  • Paul Posluszny – Hopewell
  • Sean Lee – Upper St. Clair
  • Bruce Gradkowski - Seton-LaSalle
  • Charlie Batch – Steel Valley
  • Billy Knight – Braddock
  • Sean Casey – Upper St. Clair
  • Stephanie Madia – Norrth Allegheny
  • Gary Tranquill – Avella
  • Guy Montecalvo - Washington/Canon-McMillan
  • Larry Bruno - Monaca/Beaver
  • John Woodruff - Connellsville
1 Comment
View 1 Comments