Sean Clifford Named to 2020 Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

By Matthew Filipovits on July 14, 2020 at 1:38 pm
Oct 19, 2019; University Park, PA, USA; Penn State Nittany Lions quarterback Sean Clifford (14) warms up prior to the game against the Michigan Wolverines at Beaver Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports
© Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

Sean Clifford has been named to the 2020 Davey O'Brien Award watch list, giving annually to the top quarterback in the nation.

Clifford threw for 2,654 yards, 23 touchdowns, and seven interceptions while completing over 59% of his passes in 2019. The second-year starter should be able to take the next step under new offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Kirk Ciarrocca. Tanner Morgan, Ciarrocca's quarterback last year in Minnesota, is also on the watch list after throwing for 3,253 yards and 30 touchdowns last season.

The Ohio native will look to become the third Penn State quarterback to win the award, joining Todd Blackledge (1982) and Kerry Collins (1994). A Big Ten quarterback has not won the award since Troy Smith back in 2006. LSU's Joe Borrow won it last season.

Joining Clifford and Morgan out of the Big Ten are Ohio State's Justin Fields, and Wisconsin's Jack Coan.

The entire list can be found below.

View 2 Comments