Penn State Football Names Captains for 2020 Season

By Matthew Filipovits on October 16, 2020 at 6:39 pm
Oct 5, 2019; University Park, PA, USA; Penn State Nittany Lions safety Lamont Wade (38) reacts after a sack against the Purdue Boilermakers during the second half at Beaver Stadium. Mandatory Credit: John Jones-USA TODAY Sports
© John Jones-USA TODAY Sports

Penn State announced the eight players who will serve as team captains for the 2020 season. Sean Clifford, Pat Freiermuth, and Michal Menet will be the offensive captains, while Shaka Toney, Jesse Luketa, and Lamont Wade will represent the defense. Jonathan Sutherland and Jordan Stout are the special teams captains. Clifford, Freiermuth, Menet, and Sutherland are all captains for the second straight season.

Sean Clifford, Pat Freiermuth, and Michal Menet are three of the most important players on Penn State's offense, with each playing a unique role in getting the unit going. All three are considered the leaders of their position groups.

Shaka Toney has been a lead-by-example kind of guy for years and it's great to see him get the recognition he deserves. Lamont Wade and Jesse Luketa are both vocal guys and should be the heart and soul of Penn State's defense. Of the three defensive captains, Luketa is the only one who wasn't a full-time starter last year, which gives you a good idea of how highly his teammates think of him.

Jonathan Sutherland has been a special teams ace and one of Penn State's most important players over the past year. He's a guy everyone in the program is quick to praise and has done everything that has been asked of him. Jordan Stout is one of the best kickers in the country and the only transfer player to be named a team captain in program history.