2022 Penn State Football Schedule Replaces Big Ten West Opponent, Moves Key Games Around

By Nick Polak on January 11, 2022 at 1:12 pm
Jan 1, 2022; Tampa, FL, USA; Penn State Nittany Lions quarterback Christian Veilleux (9) catches the ball after the snap during the second half against the Arkansas Razorbacks during the 2022 Outback Bowl at Raymond James Stadium.
Matt Pendleton-USA TODAY Sports
1 Comment

On Tuesday morning, the Penn State football team schedule for the 2022 season underwent a number of changes, with some games moved around and one opponent changed entirely.

The season opening/non-conference portion of the schedule remains unchanged, with the Nittany Lions set to visit Purdue to open the season and Auburn while hosting Ohio and Central Michigan. 

Things change significantly starting with October 1. The Lions were originally slated to face Ohio State, but will now host Northwestern that day. The Wildcats replace Illinois as Penn State's third Big Ten West foe. The bye week moves to October 8 from October 22, with the Michigan game now taking place the following Saturday, October 15. The Minnesota Golden Gophers will visit Happy Valley on October 22, before the Buckeyes come to town on October 29. 

The season finishes out with a trip to Indiana (November 5), a home game against Maryland (November 12), at Rutgers (November 22), and the Land Grant Trophy game vs. Michigan State (November 29).

All in all, the changes are mostly positive for Penn State. What should be a fairly inexperienced starting lineup gets a few extra weeks to prepare for Michigan and Ohio State while also now avoiding facing them back-to-back. Most importantly, though, is the moving of the Michigan State game to the final week of the season (previously was set for October 29). While it may not be the most famous rivalry in sports, the Land Grant game is typically a fun matchup and gives the final week a little more juice for both programs.

2022 Schedule
Date PREVIOUS SCHEDULE NEW SCHEDULE
Saturday, Sep. 3 at Purdue at Purdue (Thurs. 9/1)
Saturday, Sep. 10 vs. Ohio vs. Ohio
Saturday, Sep. 17 at Auburn at Auburn
Saturday, Sep. 24 vs. Central Michigan vs. Central Michigan
Saturday, Oct. 1 vs. Ohio State VS. NORTHWESTERN
Saturday, Oct. 8 at Michigan BYE
Saturday, Oct. 15 vs. Illinois AT MICHIGAN
Saturday, Oct. 22 BYE VS. MINNESOTA
Saturday, Oct. 29 vs. Michigan State VS. OHIO STATE
Saturday, Nov. 5 at Indiana at Indiana
Saturday, Nov. 12 vs. Maryland vs. Maryland
Saturday, Nov. 19 vs. Minnesota AT RUTGERS
Saturday, Nov. 26 at Rutgers VS. MICHIGAN STATE
1 Comment
View 1 Comments