Evan Barratt, Alex Limoges Nominated For Hobey Baker Award

By Kaitlyn Dividock on January 17, 2019 at 12:15 pm
Penn State forward Evan Barratt is a candidate for the Hobey Baker Award

Sophomore forwards Evan Barratt and Alex Limoges have been tearing up the box scores together every night. Thanks to those incredible performances so far this season, the two have officially been nominated for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award.

The Hobey Baker award is affectionately known to the layman as the "Heisman" of college hockey, and it's given to the top player in the nation during the year-end Frozen Four tournament.

Barratt and Limoges have scorching hot boxcars already in this 2018-19 season, and now that we've hit the halfway point, nominations like these are going to start rolling in. The duo, who play on an electric line with teammate Liam Folkes, are currently tied for second in points accrued with 30 apiece.

Barratt boasts a team-best 13 goals (tied for the Big Ten lead and ranked fourth nationally) and 17 assists (fifth in the B1G, 10th nationally). Before he left for the exciting World Junior Championship to play for his country, the Bristol, Pa. native opened the season with a blistering, program-best 11-game point streak. Barratt also broke the school record for multi-point game streak, stringing together five in a row between October 12 and November 23. His 11 total multi-point streaks also leads the team. Barratt trails only Michigan State's Taro Hirose for the top spot for points in the nation and sits just 0.01 points per game behind the Sparty sophomore at 1.58.

Limoges also has a full resume, with 11 goals and 19 assists -- tied for second in the nation in helpers. Like Barratt, Limoges also strung together an impressive point streak, including one that went on for five-straight games. His nine multi-point efforts are second only to Barratt on the team. Both of them are well past their point totals from last season with plenty of hockey still to play.

With their nominations, fans of Penn State and college hockey around the world will vote for who they feel properly deserves the Hobey Baker up until Sunday, March 10.

From the Hobey Baker official site:

"Following the conclusion of Phase I, the list of players will be narrowed to a Top-10 and that announcement will be made on March 20, 2019. Phase II voting on the Top-10 will take place from March 20 – March 31. The fans' vote accounts for a full one percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year's award recipient.

The Hobey Hat Trick will then be announced on April 4 and the Hobey Baker Memorial Award will be presented to the winner on April 12, 2019 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championships in Buffalo, N.Y."

The most recent Penn State nominees are current forward Denis Smirnov, current goaltender Peyton Jones, and former forwards Andrew Sturtz, who graduated last season and is currently playing with the AHL's Binghamton Devils, and Casey Bailey, who spent some time in the NHL with the Ottawa Senators and Toronto Maple Leafs and in the AHL with the Toronto Marlies, Devils, and Bridgeport Sound Tigers. He's now over in Russia playing in the KHL with the hockey club Slovan Bratislava.