Penn State Hockey Names Team Captains for 2021-2022 Season

By Jacob Cheris on September 2, 2021 at 3:34 pm
Penn State defenseman Paul DeNaples (3) attempts to take the puck from Niagara forward Ludwig Stenlund (29) during the game against Niagara at Pegula Ice Arena on Friday, Oct. 19, 2018. No. 10 Penn State won 8-2.
Linsey Fagan, Roar Lions Roar

Head coach Guy Gadowsky announced on Thursday his new captains. Senior defensemen Paul DeNaples will serve as the ninth team captain in program history.

DeNaples has played in 95 straight games and has a career plus-38, which is the fifth highest in Nittany Lion history. He is also a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree. 

Alongside DeNaples, fifth-year seniors Adam Pilewicz and Clayton Phillips will have an "A" on their sweaters. Junior forward Connor McMenamin will also join the leadership squad, making it the first time in Penn State's history to have three alternate captains.

DeNaples was an alternate captain last year, and was voted on by his teammates to lead the Nittany Lions into the 2021-22 campaign.

"Being a good teammate and properly representing the University that gave me this amazing opportunity has been a priority of mine since I stepped foot on campus." DeNaples said

Penn State has its season opener against the Long Island University Sharks on October 3.