No. 10 Jimmy Gulibon began his match with No. 1 Dean Heil knowing he had a job to do. After Nick Suriano was forced from his match due to injury to start the afternoon and a George Carpenter major decision loss, Penn State was in a 10-0 hole, Gulibon knew he had to make a statement in order to keep his squad in line for a victory.
In response, Gulibon came up with a massive fall of the previously-unbeaten Heil...but there was one problem. The officials decided not to call it.
Twitter responded in short order.
Gulibon appeared to have Heil pinned as the bout ended, but Heil gets a 3-2 win. OKST up 13-0 #PSUwr
— pennstateWREST (@pennstateWREST) February 19, 2017
Penn State's Jimmy Gulibon pinned his opponent twice and the refs still didn't even give him a takedown. Biased much refs?
— Tara Musser (@taramuss15) February 19, 2017
Looking like Gulibon had Dean Heil stacked not once but twice and no call from referee Mike Hagerty. Jeff Byers saying PSU coaches livid.
— James R. Carlson (@JamesRCarlson) February 19, 2017
What do you think, Penn State wrestling fans? Were Gulibon and the Nittany Lions robbed?