Penn State Wins 2018 NCAA Wrestling Championship

By Craig Fritz on March 17, 2018 at 10:44 pm
Penn State wins 2018 NCAA Wrestling Championship
© Aaron Doster-USA TODAY Sports

It came down to Penn State's last match of the night. Bo Nickal looked to be in a bind against No. 2 Myles Martin of Ohio State, but no one holds Bo down.

Nickal flipped the script on Martin with a slick reversal and pin. The victory secured a third straight NCAA Championship for the Nittany Lions. Cael Sanderson's squad has now won seven titles in the last eight years. We're in the midst of a dynasty folks, and it shows no signs of slowing down.

Penn State came into championship night with five finalist and came away with individual titles by Zain Retherford (149lbs), Jason Nolf (157lbs), Vincenzo Joseph (165lbs), and Bo Nickal (184lbs). Only Mark Hall (174lbs) was unable to defend his 2017 individual title, losing an 8-2 decision to No. 1 seed Zahid Valencia of Arizona State.

Here's the ridiculous pin that sent PSU to the title. PIN, BO, PIN!

View 2 Comments