Cael Sanderson Named InterMat Coach of the Year

By Craig Fritz on April 5, 2018 at 12:30 pm
Penn State Wrestling Cael Sanderson
Courtesy Penn State Athletics
1 Comment

Following Penn State's third straight NCAA Wrestling team title, InterMat named Cael Sanderson its 2018 National Coach of the Year. The award is the fifth for Sanderson, who also won in 2007 with Iowa State, and 2012, 2016, and 2017 while leading the Nittany Lions.

Sanderson beat out North Carolina State's Pat Popolizio and Michigan's Joe McFarland for top honors. Ohio State's Tom Ryan and South Dakota State's Chris Bono rounded out the top-five.

While Penn State's head boss must deal with losing Hodge Trophy winner and three-time national champion Zain Retherford, he returns a huge amount of talent and welcomes a loaded freshman class.

InterMat 2018 National Coach of the Year voting results (first-place votes):

1. Cael Sanderson, Penn State 64 (4)
2. Pat Popolizio, North Carolina State 45 (2)
3. Joe McFarland, Michigan 42 (2)
4. Tom Ryan, Ohio State 25
5. Chris Bono, South Dakota State 24 (1)
6. Tom Brands, Iowa 18
7. Steve Costanzo, St. Cloud State 13
8. Scott Moore, Lock Haven 12 (1)
9. Mark Branch, Wyoming, 3
9. Eric Keller, Wartburg, 3
10. Pat Santoro, Lehigh 1

1 Comment
View 1 Comments